View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Apr 05, 2020 2:24 pm



This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
 Urgent - UV maps not translating from 3dsmax to LC 
Author Message
active user
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:42 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Orlando FL
License: Media
Videocard: Titan Xp
Reply with quote
Hello,
I have an urgent request.
I am trying to do a complex map of uv's to surfaces for incoming video stream. This has worked for me on the last show but it's not working this time. Has something changed with the mapping systems.
UVs were created in Maya ( i don't have any knowledge with 3ds max) and the translated to 3dsmax. They are showing up correctly in:
Maya
3DSMAx
Polytrans

I've tried 3dl plugin from max
and .x export from polytrans

Extra color bars in raster are just to help me diagnose how the map is actually place.
it should only be using the tiny upper left area horizontal strips.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
David S. Perkins
Visualization Specialist
Imaginary Lights
M: +1 321-297-5609
david@imaginarylights.com


Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:36 pm
Profile WWW
Support Team

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 86
License: Unlimited
Videocard: GeForce GTX1080 TXP
Reply with quote
Hello davidsperkinsVER,

Please find attached files with corrected model for export to .3dl + test of export to .3dl


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:30 am
Profile
active user
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:42 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Orlando FL
License: Media
Videocard: Titan Xp
Reply with quote
This is correct.
What steps were done to fix this?
I only sent you a sample of what I am working on.
I need to be able to resolve this myself in the future.
Thank you!

_________________
David S. Perkins
Visualization Specialist
Imaginary Lights
M: +1 321-297-5609
david@imaginarylights.com


Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:37 pm
Profile WWW
Support Team

Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 12:57 am
Posts: 86
License: Unlimited
Videocard: GeForce GTX1080 TXP
Reply with quote
Hello davidsperkinsVER,

The model you’ve created doesn’t use the whole range of UV MAP(0-1), that’s why after converting it it loses correct UV map.
You have to assign the whole UV map to your model/object.

As an example, to fix your model/object:
- Create a small plane inside of your object.
- Put UV map on small plane(the Whole range from 0 to 1)
- Select your Big object and with ATTACH function(see attached screen shot) connect it to your small plane
- Do the convert into 3DL or .X

I hope it make sense now?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Thu Sep 25, 2014 11:47 am
Profile
active user
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:42 pm
Posts: 391
Location: Orlando FL
License: Media
Videocard: Titan Xp
Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply,
I'll see if I can translate to equivalent steps in maya. I barely know how to do anything in 3DSMAX.
What I don't understand is how the UV range seems to be correctly interpreted by other programs. I can send screenshots of my UV editor in maya, and it looks correct.

BTW, what would it take to support .FBX file import in Lightconverse. That format will allow importations from many off-the-shelf applications without the need to translate.

Thanks,
David S. Perkins

_________________
David S. Perkins
Visualization Specialist
Imaginary Lights
M: +1 321-297-5609
david@imaginarylights.com


Thu Sep 25, 2014 6:43 pm
Profile WWW
architector
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 11:02 pm
Posts: 3000
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
License: Unlimited
Videocard: TitanX
Reply with quote
davidsperkinsVER wrote:
What I don't understand is how the UV range seems to be correctly interpreted by other programs. I can send screenshots of my UV editor in maya, and it looks correct.
Other programs probably does not optimize 3D mesh on load. That means that due to optimization if no more steps of UV for neighbor vertex, it may be clamped and texture render stops or flip.

davidsperkinsVER wrote:
BTW, what would it take to support .FBX file import in LIGHTCONVERSE.
We does not target to import other formats directly to LC due to each format has it's own limitations. To avoid that we decide to provide own plugins to save data directly from modeling software in our 3DL format. For now that is Vectorworks, Autocad and Studio Max.


Fri Sep 26, 2014 9:20 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.

© L8 LLC l8.ltd         lc.ua