View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Mon Jun 14, 2021 9:18 pm



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Frost with Shutters 
Author Message
user

Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:15 pm
Posts: 21
License: TRACE
Videocard: GeForce RTX 3090
Reply with quote
I'm looking for a way to use frost -function with shutters on a convetional profile. To my eye it seems like that the frost adjustment just makes the beam bigger but doesn't soften the edges. Fixture profile is "ETC Source Four 36deg 750W". I tested couple of different "conventional profile" -fixtures and they all functio, the same way. Changing the fixture lens effects only the open beam without shutters. Is there a way to soften the beam edges with shutters on?

Gobo with a soft edges is not a solution because we're working with a real-life fixture positioning and we need very precise and specific shutter croppings.

Here's two pictures that show the difference between frost values:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Wed Feb 10, 2021 3:50 pm
Profile
architector
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 11:02 pm
Posts: 3202
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
License: Unlimited
Videocard: TitanX
Reply with quote
Use Edge for that.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Wed Feb 10, 2021 4:44 pm
Profile WWW
user

Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 9:15 pm
Posts: 21
License: TRACE
Videocard: GeForce RTX 3090
Reply with quote
Thanks, that helped a little bit but to my eye the beam edges are still quite sharp. Is there a way to soften them even more? I'm looking similar kind of results that you're getting by using a proper frost filter in real life.

Screenshot below:


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Wed Feb 10, 2021 4:57 pm
Profile
architector
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 05, 2005 11:02 pm
Posts: 3202
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
License: Unlimited
Videocard: TitanX
Reply with quote
EKhead wrote:
I'm looking similar kind of results that you're getting by using a proper frost filter in real life.
You can simulate Frost filter in "Filter" window.


Wed Feb 10, 2021 9:04 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software for PTF.

© L8 LLC l8.ltd         lc.ua